Textile Insight

Textile Insight Sept 2017

Issue link: http://viewer.e-digitaledition.com/i/875036

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 59

06 / In The Market A recap of summer trade events along with a slew of sustainability reports on eco-fashion, eco-wearables, and eco- textile trends. Plus: news on corporate partnerships and personnel. 17 / Technology The recent FDA determination represents a seismic shift for Celliant paving the way to become "the best of the best" of responsive textiles, says the company's CEO. 18 / Euro Report For Spring/Summer '19, fashion and functionality take on a higher level of creativity in textiles that deliver versatility for consumers craving new experiences. 20 / Voices We catch up with Jill Dumain and ask what has surprised her most about bluesign now that she's settled into her new role as CEO these past six months. 22 / Denim The latest denim innovations continue to push the tech element particularly when it comes to strength and stretch. Boulder Denim is a prime example. 24 / Footwear Styles for S/S 2018 offer strong visual statements with aggressive looks and bold color. Also: footwear takes a stand on National Parks with a variety of promotions. 30 / Cover Story With sustainability frameworks and best practices in place, execs expect positive change that will result in a broader, more diverse future for eco- responsibility. 36 / Survey This installment of Trend Insight Consumer delivers research on issues related to eco-friendly materials based on sports enthusiasts' feedback conducted on MESH1's Insight Platform. 54 / In the Studio We highlight three specialty brands that use fabric selection and garment construction to put a modern spin on active lifestyle apparel for men. 56 / Trendsetter Contributor Suzanne Blecher talks with designer Grant McClelland who is creating classic American looks with a technical twist for Brooks Brothers. 57 / Education FabricLink founder Kathy Swantko reports on Cornell University's development of a recycling machine that helps eliminate post-production textile waste. 58 / Out of Context Kurt Gray suggests that with Colorado as an ideal backdrop, Denver is uniquely situated to take advantage of OR from a made-in-USA point of view like Salt Lake never could. A special Insight on Sustainability section starts on Page 39. Executive Editor Mark Sullivan msullivan@formula4media.com 646-319-7878 Editor /Associate Publisher Emily Walzer emilywalzer@sbcglobal.net Managing Editor Cara Griffin Art Director Francis Klaess Associate Art Director Mary McGann Contributing Editors Suzanne Blecher Kurt Gray Jennifer Ernst Beaudry Kathlyn Swantko Publisher Jeff Nott jnott@formula4media.com 516-305-4711 Production Brandon Christie 516 305-4710 bchristie@formula4media.com Business Manager Marianna Rukhvarger 516-305-4709 mrukhvarger@formula4media.com Advertising Jeff Gruenhut jgruenhut@formula4media.com 404-467-9980 Christina Henderson 516-305-4712 chenderson@formula4media.com Troy Leonard tleonard@formula4media.com 352-624-1561 Katie O'Donohue kodonohue@formula4media.com 828-244-3043 Sam Selvaggio sselvaggio@formula4media.com 212-398-5021 Daemon Filson dfilson@formula4media.com 541-292-1450 Subscriptions: store.formula4media.com One year, $24.00 (U.S. Funds) in the United States. All other countries, $54.00 (U.S. Funds). Formula4 Media Publications Sports Insight Sports Insight Extra Outdoor Insight Footwear Insight Team Insight Textile Insight Running Insight Trend Insight sportstyle PO Box 23-1318, Great Neck , NY 11023 Phone: 516-305-4710 Fax: 516-441-5692 www.formula4media.com Textile Insight ® is a registered trademark of Formula4 Media, LLC. ©2017 All rights reserved. The opinions expressed by authors and contributors to Textile Insight are not necessarily those of the editors or publishers. Textile Insight is not responsible for unsolicited manuscripts, photographs or artwork. Articles appearing in Textile Insight may not be reproduced in whole or in part without the express permission of the publisher. Textile Insight is published bi-monthly: Jan/Feb; Mar/Apr; May/Jun; Jul/ Aug; Sep/Oct; and Nov/Dec. Postmaster: Send address changes to Textile Insight, P.O. Box 23-1318 Great Neck, NY 11023 SEPTEMBER/ OCTOBER 2017 TEXTILE INSIGHT ® Rhone Commuter Pant. Page 54

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Textile Insight - Textile Insight Sept 2017