Textile Insight

Textile Insight March 2018

Issue link: http://viewer.e-digitaledition.com/i/952449

Contents of this Issue


Page 2 of 35

Executive Editor Mark Sullivan msullivan@formula4media.com 646-319-7878 Editor /Associate Publisher Emily Walzer emilywalzer@sbcglobal.net Managing Editor Cara Griffin Art Director Francis Klaess Associate Art Director Mary McGann Contributing Editors Suzanne Blecher Kurt Gray Jennifer Ernst Beaudry Kathlyn Swantko Publisher Jeff Nott jnott@formula4media.com 516-305-4711 Production Brandon Christie 516 305-4710 bchristie@formula4media.com Business Manager Marianna Rukhvarger 516-305-4709 mrukhvarger@formula4media.com Advertising Jeff Gruenhut jgruenhut@formula4media.com 404-467-9980 Christina Henderson 516-305-4712 chenderson@formula4media.com Troy Leonard tleonard@formula4media.com 352-624-1561 Katie O'Donohue kodonohue@formula4media.com 828-244-3043 Sam Selvaggio sselvaggio@formula4media.com 212-398-5021 Subscriptions: store.formula4media.com One year, $24.00 (U.S. Funds) in the United States. All other countries, $54.00 (U.S. Funds). Formula4 Media Publications Sports Insight SportsInsightExtra Outdoor Insight Footwear Insight Team Insight Textile Insight Running Insight Trend Insight sportstyle PO Box 23-1318, Great Neck , NY 11023 Phone: 516-305-4710 Fax: 516-441-5692 www.formula4media.com Textile Insight ® is a registered trademark of Formula4 Media, LLC. ©2018 All rights reserved. The opinions expressed by authors and contributors to Textile Insight are not necessarily those of the editors or publishers. Textile Insight is not responsible for unsolicited manuscripts, photographs or artwork. Articles appearing in Textile Insight may not be reproduced in whole or in part without the express permission of the publisher. Textile Insight is published bi-monthly: Jan/Feb; Mar/Apr; May/Jun; Jul/ Aug; Sep/Oct; and Nov/Dec. Postmaster: Send address changes to Textile Insight, P.O. Box 23-1318 Great Neck, NY 11023 textileinsight.com TEXTILE INSIGHT ® MARCH/APRIL 2018 06 / In the Market Our winter season recap comes complete with trade show trends, eco intros, and a round up of industry product news, personnel updates and acquisitions. 14 / Footwear Customization levels up to personalization as footwear firms advance factory models and in-store technology to identify a perfect fit in speedy fashion. 18 / Cover Story An entrepreneurial spirit is energizing manufacturing and lending fresh perspective to how goods get made. Execs discuss the latest investments and collaborations. 24 / Survey This installment of Trend Insight Consumer delivers research on how users relate to where and how apparel and footwear are produced with feedback conducted on MESH1's Insight Platform. 28 / TrendSetter Thrive Société presents powerful performance gear with a sprinkle of girly glam. Contributor Suzanne Blecher talks with the brand's senior active designer. 30 / Strategies Execs at four firms with tight family units at the helm highlight the rewards of keeping things all in the family and why relationships matter in business. 32 / Supply Chain It's been a decade-long effort to improve sustainability, and as the Higg Index turns 10, it continues to evolve and broaden its reach. 33 / Education Thermal comfort is a fundamental need demanded by today's consumers, and a research team at Stanford University is well on its way to solving this problem. Kathy Swantko reports. 34 / Out of Context Kurt Gray makes a case for how open source software can fuel American made sewn goods while inspiring a generation of self-taught entrepreneurs and designers. Textile report from ISPO in Europe, see page 8.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Textile Insight - Textile Insight March 2018