Culture Magazine

Beginnings 2024 Culture Magazine

Issue link: https://viewer.e-digitaledition.com/i/1516167

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 41 of 67

BEGINNINGS 2024 culturecheesemag.com 39 Vegetarian Cheese We hate to burst your bubble, f riends, but most cheese is not actually vegetarian. In cheesemaking, milk is coagulated using animal rennet, which originates f rom the stomach lining of a calf, lamb, or kid. That said, several vegetarian cheeses in the marketplace today boast an ever-evolving landscape of renneting options, including vegetarian coagulants such as fungi Mucor miehei and Aspergillus niger var. awamori. Rimes prefers using thistle rennet to make her Brefu Bach. According to her, this rennet isn't only a more natural plant-based option, but it's also less potent than animal rennet, helping the lactic cheese retain its soft curd formation. Other plant-based alternatives include fermentation-produced chymosin, a rennet substitute produced by DSM Food Specialties in the Netherlands and Chr. Hansen in Denmark. The rennet, while made with GE technology, contains no GMOs; rather, it is made using a process similar to GM-derived plant-based meat. A host organism—usually Aspergillus niger var. awamori or Kluyveromyces lactis—is genetically modified to express the sought-after enzyme through fermentation. The resulting rennet is stronger than thistle rennet, making it a better choice for hard cheeses. It is forbidden in France, as it does not conform with the legal definition of rennet, but it is used f requently in UK cheese production of vegetarian cheddars, among other styles. Clockwise f rom left: Caws Calan; Rimes inspecting racks of her Brefu Bach; and Olwyn Fawr and Caws Chwaral at various stages of aging.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Culture Magazine - Beginnings 2024 Culture Magazine